Get Involved2018-10-29T09:34:02+00:00

Get Involved

Contact: Samantha Lippard at s.lippard@laschools.net or call at 663 – 2222

Los Alamos Public Schools encourages community involvement in school programs. The use of volunteers strengthens the instructional programs for the students of the Los Alamos Public Schools.

Please review the policies that are contained within the Volunteer Handbook. After reading all policies and regulations, download and print the Volunteer Handbook Agreement form. This form must be turned into the school site where you wish to volunteer.

If you would like to be a volunteer, please fill out our volunteer survey form.
Click Here To Volunteer!

Volunteer Handbook

AtomicCityChildrensTheater.com

Atomic City Children’s Theater 2017-2018 Season Dates to Remember
• 6/26 – 6/30: ACCT Summer Workshop
• 11/18: Roald Dahl’s James and the Giant Peach Jr. Auditions
• 11/28: Roald Dahl’s James and the Giant Peach Jr. Rehearsals begin
• 2/16 & 2/17: Roald Dahl’s James and the Giant Peach Jr. Performance
• 3/1: 3rd/4th Grade Auditions (Show TBA)
• 4/27 & 4/28: 3rd/4th Grade Performance (Show TBA)

Atomic City Children’s Theater Contact Information:
Daren Savage
Email: d.savage@laschools.net
Phone: 470-9879

Annemarie Brown
Phone: 663-2765

Science Fair Website

Science Fair Director: Eva Abeyta   e.abeyta@laschools.net

County Science fair next year will be held on January 18-19, 2019 at the Los Alamos Middle School.  A couple of points to keep in mind are:

1)  Summer is a great time to start thinking about a science fair project.

2)  There will be no late judging offered next year.

3)  Not all students will receive a monetary prize but will be guaranteed a wonderful t-shirt and a certificate of participation.

New Mexico Junior Academy of Science

Great Resources for Science Fair Projects:  
The Junior Academy of Science and the NM Science Teachers Association are the sponsors the Scientific Paper Competition for students grades 6 – 12. The competitions are held in conjunction with the Regional and State Science Fairs. There are two divisions, 1) 6 – 8 is the Junior Division and 2) grades 9 – 12 is the Senior Division. Cash prizes are awarded to the winners at the Regional and State levels by the NM Academy of Science and the NM Science Teachers Association.

Regional winners will advance to the State Competition.

Science Buddies link

Why participate in the Science Fair?
It is not only fun but gives students the opportunity to apply the knowledge they have and to add to that knowledge in a project that interests them. They are able to combine knowledge from different areas to make a complete project. This is not just practice but a real application to real world problems.

Who can participate?
Grades K – 3:   Students can participate in a class project and enter in the ELEMENTARY CLASS DIVISION
Grades 4 – 5:   Students can enter individual projects and compete in the ELEMENTARY DIVISION
Grades 6 – 8:   Students can enter individual projects and compete in the JUNIOR DIVISION

Grades 9 – 12: Students can enter individual projects and compete in the SENIOR DIVISION

Coordinators for each school site:
Heather Coy:  Aspen – h.coy@laschools.net

Amy Gilbert:  Aspen – a.gilbert@laschools.net

Audrey Juliani:  Barranca – au.juliani@laschools.net

Jennifer Lopez: Barranca – j.lopez@laschools.net

Stephanie Martinez:  Barranca – s.martinez@laschools.net

Melody Cordova:  Chamisa -m.cordova@laschools.net

Mary Alice Hawkins  Mountain –  m.hawkins@laschools.net

Donna Schaefer Mountain – d.schaefer@laschools.net

Fabian Smith Mountain – f.smith@laschools.net

Herb Siegel:  Pinon – h.siegel@laschools.net

Adrienne Hetrick : LAMS – a.hetrick@laschools.net

Katie Tauxe:  LAHS – k.tauxe@laschools.net

Stephanie Meyer:  LAHS –  s.meyer@laschools.net

Great Schools. Great Place to Live. Great People

Los Alamos Public Schools is ranked as one of the premier school districts in the United States. LAPS serves as the primary school district for Los Alamos County, a county recently recognized as a Top 10 County for public schools. See links below on our outstanding achievements for the school district and our outstanding partnership with Los Alamos County.

#1 School District in New Mexico

Top 10 Counties in America for Education

Best Places to Live Top 10

Los Alamos Country #1 for Quality of Life