1300 Diamond Drive, Los Alamos, NM, 87544

Office Hours:

Main: (505) 663-2510  |  Information:

Fax: (505) 662-6846

Latest News

Success Stories

  • Congratulations to Paz Mas, our Hubba Bubba Junior Award Winner!  
    Paz found a wallet on the ground with nearly $40 in it and immediately contacted security so the wallet could be returned to the owner.  Paz always has a smile and is willing to help.
     Congratulations to Paz Mas, our Hubba Bubba Junior Award Winner!    
    Way to go Paz!!
    Comments (-1)
  • AAPT Announces the 2014 U.S. Physics Team

    Alexandr Wang, a senior at Los Alamos High School, is selected for the U.S. Physics Team.  

    College Park, MD, May 21, 2014—This spring you can find America’s brightest emerging physicists at Physics Boot Camp.  They come from California, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, New York, New Jersey, New Mexico, and Texas. There are high school sophomores, juniors, and seniors. Seven of them are returning as second time members of the United States Physics Team. They will arrive in College Park, MD, later this month to prepare for the next stage of the competition to identify the world’s best high school physics students.

    Nineteen students from across the U.S. have emerged through a rigorous exam process that began last January with approximately 4,277 students who participated in the Fnet=ma exam to become the 2014 U.S. Physics Team. These students will continue to train for the mentally grueling exams and lab tests they'll face at the 45th International Physics Olympiad to be held from July 13 – 21, 2014 in Astana, Kazakhstan, where more than 400 student scholars from 92 nations will test their knowledge in physics, competing with the best in the world. Over the past ten years, every U.S. Physics Team member traveling to the international competition has returned with a medal.
    Comments (-1)
  • LAHS sophomore, Coleman Kendrick, placed 2nd in the Physics and Astronomy Division at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair, out of 100 projects in his category.
    The International Fair was held May 10-16th. Cole also won a $500.00 award from the Astronomical Society of the Pacific and American Astronomical Society, as well as, travel expenses to their annual meeting in the fall, as well as,  a scholarship to Arizona State University.

     There were 1,784 students from 70 countries, regions, states and provinces at the 6 day fair in Los Angeles, vying for 3.5 million dollars in prizes, awards and scholarships. Intel ISEF is the largest pre-college science competition in the world.
    Topper Success
    Comments (-1)
  • Congratulations to Daniel Ahrens on a strong finish at the Tournament of Champions Congressional Debate Tournament (TOC) at the University of Kentucky this weekend.  
    Daniel finished 42nd in a pool of 98 Congressional Debaters from 29 schools and 13 states.  Daniel was the only representative from New Mexico at this year's TOC. 
    The TOC is an application only tournament.  To apply, debaters must have earned at least two finishes in the top 10 at national circuit Congressional Debate tournaments.  Daniel earned a seventh place finish at the Cal Invitational at UC Berkeley and a seventh place finish at the Yale Invitational.  Additionally, Daniel finished 12th at the Southwest Classic at Arizona State University.  Daniel is the third debater in our fifty-one year history as a team to qualify for this tournament.
    Daniel is also a semi-finalist  for the Presidential Scholar award and he will be attending UC Berkeley this fall. 
    Student Nominated for Presidential Scholarship  
    Congratulations Daniel!
    Comments (-1)
  • Congratulations to Mitch Pfaff, our Hubba Bubba Junior Award Winner.
    Mitch was nominated for his kindness and compassion.  On one occasion Mitch went above and beyond, to go out of his way for an ailing student. He stepped up and stepped in without hesitation, to demonstrate his kind hearted nature.  He is an inspiration to us all.
    April Hubba Bubba Jr.  
     LAHS is proud of Mitch! 
    Comments (-1)
  • Congratulations to Rueben Martinez, our Hubba Bubba Junior Award Winner.
    Rueben was spotted recently on a cold winter morning, as he came into the commons area.  Rueben graciously waited and held the door open for a young lady, as she approached the building.  Rueben isn't only concerned for himself, rushing in from the cold, but he did an unexpected kind deed, to make someone's day a little brighter.  It is that kind of nice gesture, often overlooked that help Los Alamos High School a great place and students like Rueben who take the time.
    Jr. Hubba Bubba Award  
    Good job Rueben!
    Comments (-1)
  • FIRST Robotics Team 4153 took home the silver medal in Lubbock this month.
    They were seeded 10th out of 42 teams after 12 qualifying matches and captained the 7th ranked alliance in wins over the 2nd and 3rd ranked alliances. In the finals, they narrowly lost 2 of 3 matches to finish in second place. Congratulations to Team 4153-Project Y.
    Way to work hard Robotics Team!
    FIRST Robotics Team 4153 took home the silver medal  
    Comments (-1)
  • Congratulations to the Chess Club!
    The varsity chess team swept all of their games yesterday to win the NW Regional Chess tournament in Thoreau.  Los Alamos qualifies for the State Championship Chess tournament to held at the end of April in Albuquerque.
    Congratulations to all!
    Chess club  
    Comments (-1)
  • Congratulations to all the German students who took the German National Exam.
    Students did extremely well at all three levels: German 2, 3 and 4.  17 students scored in the 90th to 99th percentile nationally – that means 17 Gold Medals. And we took the top 3 spots in the state at EVERY level. Wunderbar!
    The following 12 students can now compete for the top prize: going on an all-expenses paid study trip to Germany. Only approximately 37 students nationally will be selected to go to Germany.
    1.    Tabitha Welch
    2.    Jenny Wang
    3.    Wilbur Wang
    4.    Robert Zhu
    5.    Jerry Li
    6.    Robert Renfro
    7.    Rachel Wallstrom
    8.    Colin Redman
    9.    Alexander Swart
    10.  Alice Shao
    11.  Kim Vo
    12.  Lauren Tencate
    Comments (-1)
  • Congratulations to the varsity chess team swept all of their games yesterday to win the NW Regional Chess tournament in Thoreau.
    Los Alamos qualifies for the State Championship Chess tournament to held at the end of April in Albuquerque.
    Comments (-1)
  • more

Upcoming Events

View Calendar