Academics2018-11-06T10:18:10+00:00

Learning & Accountability

Jennifer Guy
Jennifer GuyAssistant Superintendent Learning & Accountability

Executive Administrative Assistant
Sandra Osborn:  (505) 663-2228  •  s.osborn@laschools.net

District Safety Coordinator
Susan Fellows:  (505) 663-2224  •  s.fellows@laschools.net

Kathryn Vandenkieboom
Kathryn VandenkieboomLearning Systems Director

Kathryn Vandenkieboom has worked in public education in New Mexico since 1988. She taught in the elementary setting for16 years and. most recently completed 10 years as the principal of Aspen Elementary. She completed both a BS in Elementary Education and a MA in Educational Leadership at UNM where she was a Danforth Scholar. Mrs. Vandenkieboom brings strong communication and organizational skills, along with institutional knowledge about LAPS to the Systems, Data and Curriculum Coordinator position. When she isn’t working , she and her husband and kids enjoy working in the yard, playing with their dogs,visiting beaches and watching the latest Star Wars movies together.

Curriculum Specialist
Debbie Bell:  (505) 663-2229  •  d.bell@laschools.net

Check out the 2018 NMPED School Grades

2018 School Grades

Learning Technologies

IT Operations Administrator
Pierce Jones:  (505) 663-2660  •  p.jones@laschools.net

Site Tech Admin
Sal Zapien: (505) 663-2602 • s.zapien@laschools.net

Network Security/Server Administrator
Ted Galez:  (505) 663-2205  •  t.galvez@laschools.net

Network/Google Systems Manager
Scott Newman:  (505) 663-3200  •  s.newman@laschools.net

Systems Manager
Alison Watt:  (505) 663-2201  •  a.watt@laschools.net

Site Tech – Aspen
Darel Madrid:  (505) 663-2275  •  d.madrid@laschools.net

Site Tech – Barranca
Joyce Haven:  (505) 663-2746  •  j.haven@laschools.net

Site Tech – Chamisa-Pinon
Pauline Stephens:  (505) 663-2480  •  p.stephens@laschools.net

Site Tech – Mountain
Linda Hand:  (505) 663-2342  •  l.hand@laschools.net

Site Tech – LAMS
Gary Penny:  (505) 663-2390  •  g.penny@laschools.net

Site Tech – LAHS
Eloy Gutierrez:  (505) 663-2598  •  e.gutierrez@laschools.net

Academic Resources

Teacher Resources2018-08-14T09:57:38+00:00

Atomic Learning:  A district funded site that students and staff can use to view lessons on how to use different types of applications.  Your email is your username.  Please ask your school librarian for the password.

Discovery Education:  A district funded site that allows teachers to find video clips, lesson plans, and virtual field trips that can be used in the classroom or assigned to students for homework.  Use your email login for this site.

Britannica Online School edition:  -see your librarian for remote access username and password

Britannica ImageQuest:  -see your librarian for remote access username and password

Scholastic GO! research database:  -see your librarian for remote access username and password

Read Works:  K-12 Fiction and Non-Fiction Literature Units and Articles, extremely great resource

ReadWriteThink:  An amazing site that is filled with lessons and online activities for every grade and subject and professional development! No registration or login.

BrainFuse HelpNow (free online tutoring help for k-12 & college)

Gale Databases:  A database of full text magazines and other research periodicals for almost every content area.

Common Core State Standards:  The site for all your C.C.S.S. needs and information!

American School Librarian Association:  Everything for the school librarian (or wannabe)!

MiddleWeb:  MiddleWeb is all about the middle grades — with a sharp focus on teaching and learning in grades 4-8.

National Park Service

US Mint For Kids

Lexington Schools Educational Technology Page:  This page has a TON of links and lessons for educational technology!

Kentucky Virtual Library:  How To Complete a Research Project  • And other helpful information

Varsity Tutors:  Free Learning Tools  (practice standardized tests, flashcards, any subject matter at all grade levels)

Mission2018-08-14T10:04:13+00:00

The curriculum is the major statement any educational institution makes about itself, about what it can contribute to the intellectual development of students, about what it thinks is important in its teaching service to society. The mission of any curriculum committee is to provide guidance, advocacy, and supervision by ensuring that the curriculum is academically sound, comprehensive, and responsive to the evolving needs of the global community, thus serving the district’s mission, goals, and educational needs of our students. The LAPS curriculum aligns with the New Mexico Standards & Benchmarks, the Los Alamos School District’s EPSS, and regional accreditation requirements. We use a backward design approach in designing our alignment guides and maps. Our current courses provide for differentiation and integrated curricular approaches to meet the needs of all learners in the classroom. Selection of major instructional and assessment materials is the responsibility of the Curriculum Committees. These committees are comprised of representatives from the local community, the teaching faculty for that particular content area, and the curriculum director.

The paramount focus for curriculum in Los Alamos Public Schools is that all students have equal access to the standards and benchmarks required for graduation from Los Alamos Public Schools.

Library Curriculum2018-07-05T11:33:54+00:00

The library curriculum is a combination of the C.C.S.S. and the American Library Association Standards for the 21st Century Learner.  The official name is for the document is the Crosswalk.  In addition to the Crosswalk, the librarians teach Cyber-Safety & Cyber-Etiquette classes, technology skills, Dewey Decimal usage, using online and print reference sources (almanac, dictionary, thesaurus, atlas, and encyclopedia),  elements of literature, fiction and nonfiction genres, fiction, and nonfiction text features, creating fiction and nonfiction writing, library manners, and they assist teachers and students with learning projects.  Below are documents compiled and formatted by LAPS teacher-librarian Beverly Nelson, that are a concise statement of what is covered in each grade level library class.

Kindergarten  •  First Grade  •  Second Grade  •  Third Grade  •  Fourth Grade  •  Fifth Grade  •  Sixth Grade  •  Seventh Grade  •  Eighth Grade  •  Ninth & Tenth Grade  •  Eleventh & Twelve Grade

Common Sense Media: The School and Family Media Literacy Site  •  NM PED: Library, Media, and Information Literacy  •  District Media Center

Curriculum & Materials Adoption2018-08-14T11:18:41+00:00

Great Schools. Great Place to Live. Great People

Los Alamos Public Schools is ranked as one of the premier school districts in the United States. LAPS serves as the primary school district for Los Alamos County, a county recently recognized as a Top 10 County for public schools. See links below on our outstanding achievements for the school district and our outstanding partnership with Los Alamos County.

#1 School District in New Mexico

Top 10 Counties in America for Education

Best Places to Live Top 10

Los Alamos Country #1 for Quality of Life