LAPS: School Board

Vision: We prepare capable and confident life-long learners.

SCHOOL BOARD MEETING

Thursday, Dec. 13, 2022 05:30 PM Mountain Time (US and Canada)

School Board Vacancy

The Los Alamos School Board is in search of a person to fill the vacancy left on the board with the departure of member Erin Green who represents District 5. The term will run through Dec. 31, 2023. Applicants must be a registered voter, over 18 years of age, and reside in district 5. Interested candidates should submit a letter of interest, including relevant experience and attributes that one would bring to the position and a resume to Board Secretary Debra Bell at d.bell@laschools.net by 5 pm on Friday, Dec. 16. Click here for more information.

Board Meetings are held the 2nd Tuesday and 4th Thursday of the month in the School Board Room. Due to COVID-19 safety precautions, Board Meetings are also accessible via Zoom.

Board President: Melanie Colgan – District 4 –  m.colgan@laschools.net • Photo and Years Served

Board Vice President: Christine Bernstein – District 3  –  c.bernstein@laschools.net  • Photo and Years Served

Board Secretary:  Antonio Jaurigue – District 2  –  a.jaurigue@laschools.net   • Photo and Years Served

Board Member:  Ellen Specter – District 1  –  e.specter@laschools.net  •  Photo and Years Served

Board Member:  Erin Green – District 5 – e.green@laschools.net  •  Photo and Years Served

Questions or Need Help? Contact Lena Jaramillo at l.jaramillo@laschools.net or (505) 663-2228.


The policies and regulation are in PDF format.  You will need a PDF viewer to read them.  The latest version of Adobe Reader is recommended.  This is free to download.

Policy SeriesDefinition
1000 Community Relations Communications with the Public
Participation by the Public
Public Activities involving Staff, Students, and School Facilities
Relations between Local, State, Regional and National
Non-School Sponsored Activities
2000 Administration Central Administrative and Supervisory Personnel
Temporary and Part-Time Administrative Personnel
Administrative Operations
3000 Business & Non Instructional Operations Finance
Income
Expenditures
Non-Instructional Operations
4000 PersonnelAll Personnel
Licensed Personnel
Classified Personnel
5000 Students Elementary and Secondary
Special Education
6000 InstructionElementary and Secondary
8000 Internal Board OrganizationOrganization
Members
Methods of Operation
Responsibilities of the School Board

Open Meeting Policy
Certificate as to Open Meeting Policy  •  Board Bylaws Establishing Standards for Reasonable Public Notice of Meetings.
Please visit the Board Policies & Regulations.  •  9341 School Board Meetings  •  9342 Special School Board Meetings  •  9345 Executive Meeting

Student Liaisons for 2021-2022

Seniors:

  • Elizabeth Booton
  • Nina Johnson
  • DeJahn Tafoya

Juniors:

  • Lizeth Garcia
  • Quintin Madsen
  • Fayrouz Mourad

Los Alamos Public Schools are focused on:
Student Well-Being   •   Student Learning   •   Teacher and Staff Well-Being and Excellence   •   Fiscal Responsibility   •   Quality Facilities   •   Innovative Leadership   •   Communications and Collaboration   •   Integrated Technology